Finished Vogue 3559 – Pink version

25 Nov

I bought this pattern off Etsy about half a year ago, and have made two dresses from it now.  This is my most recently finished version! You know how sometimes you just find a pattern that fits you perfectly, straight out of the pack with no alterations? This was one! I love it!

Pink dress - handmade, green suede 40's heels - birthday present, green suitcase - hard rubbish collection!

It was really bright outside so the colours are rather washed out, but this shot shows the fabric and buttons to better effect. I had actually finished the dress a while ago, but was hanging out for the perfect buttons. I finally found these great vintage ones in a tiny op-shop in Gladstone (country SA!) and found they were just the ticket.

How fab is that fabric?! Another lucky op-shop find – the stripey one has tiny little French cafes and Eiffel Towers all over it! I didn’t have quite enough for the entire dress, so the yoke is in a matching print fabric. Also – note the bound buttonholes! The pattern calls for nine of them, all down the front, and I thought it may be time to choke it back and learn how to do bound buttonholes. It’s always been something I was too terrified to learn, but after consulting my Reader’s Digest Sewing guide I gave it a shot and discovered it’s really not so bad. It’s actually fun! So satisfying to see the neat little slits set off by a pretty fabric, I wish you could see them better! As it is I’ll be walking around going ‘Hey everyone, check out my sweet buttonholes’!

Vogue did a recent re-issue of this pattern, V2960. It’s essentially the same pattern with multi-sizing. I would be really interested in comparing the two patterns and instruction sheets, just to see what has been changed for a new sewing audience.

PS. Gertie has collected some great tips and ideas for bound buttonholes at her blog – it’s not just me who finds this stuff scary!

13 Responses to “Finished Vogue 3559 – Pink version”

  1. Camelia Crinoline November 25, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    Gorgeous dress. The buttons are really pretty.

  2. Veronica Darling November 25, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    Hi, I just saw your post over at Sew Retro, and see that you’ve just started your blog. Welcome!

    For the White Christmas dress, I’ve been told recently that silk is a good lining, if you can afford it, and as it’s a natural thing, would it be better in the heat I wonder?

    Your dress looks great and I’m keen to see more!

    • whipstitchsewing November 26, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

      Veronica – Yes silk would be lovely wouldn’t it! Unfortunately I am extremely ‘not rich’ at the moment, so no silk for me :( One day maybe!

  3. Trudy Callan November 26, 2009 at 1:19 am #

    Your dress is gorgeous!

    Welcome to blogging. Come by and visit if you get a chance.

  4. Claire November 26, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Very lovely dress, thefabric and button are very lucky finds they work so well.

    I saw the re-print pattern recently in Lindcraft and I think I will have to go check it out.

  5. Maggie November 26, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    Love it! It amazes me how some people find just the right pattern for themselves. You have done that here…just really “YOU”. I’m wondering if the newer version has wider shoulders. I like how yours fits. And I bet they don’t suggest bound buttonholes either!

    • whipstitchsewing November 26, 2009 at 2:10 pm #

      Maggie – Thanks! Yes I would love to know if they changed the pattern at all for the new version… this one has a waist stay as well, a really old school touch!

  6. Stephanie November 27, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    I really like your dress. It’s very pretty!

  7. Serendipity Handmade November 27, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    I saw your post on Sew Retro and left a comment there…amazing dress! I’ll be following your blog!

  8. Becky December 4, 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    I LOVE your dress.

  9. Karin December 4, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    Gorgeous dress, greeeat work (and congratulations on finding the perfect pattern for you!), and I LOVE your shoes! Lucky girl ;-)!

  10. 2paw January 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Oh it is absolutely fabulous and I love the green shoes and case especially!! I am still trying to make my first dress of Summer!!!

  11. Toni (WyomingMom) January 15, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    Your dress is stunning!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

