Rainbows everywhere!

20 Jan

Everything is colourful!

I chained my bike (the big turquoise one!) next to this tiny knit-bombed rainbow covered trike outside work last week. All around town these yarn-covered bikes have appeared, a lovely impromptu street art to brighten up our car-infested streets.

 

 

One of my costume lecturers is knitting these amazing sweater dresses out of 4-ply sock wool. She has made three so far, and by all accounts it is totally addictive, watching the colours change and grow. They are truly beautiful, light and colourful works of art! She keeps one in the car so she can knit wherever she finds a spare minute.

 

 

A whole basket full of 4-ply yarns ready to be knitted up. Irresistible!

 

 

Of course I couldn’t resist! I have a whole bunch of 4-ply wool in the stash myself, and socks are not my favourite thing to knit (I suffer dreadfully from ‘second-sock-syndrome’!). Tomorrow I am flying to Tasmania to visit my Mum for a few days, and this will be something to take along and keep my hands busy. That gold sparkly yarn will be in there somewhere, oh yes…

3 Responses to “Rainbows everywhere!”

  1. Laura January 20, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    I love those little knitted bikes! Yarn bombing is my favorite!

    • whipstitchsewing January 21, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

      It’s pretty awesome! I love the idea of knitty grafitti, as it were :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Knit ALL the Yarns! « - April 6, 2012

    […] showed the beginnings of it here, and it’s finally finished! Inspired by the beautiful multicolour pullovers that one of my […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

