Knit ALL the Yarns!

6 Apr

 

I showed the beginnings of it here, and it’s finally finished! Inspired by the beautiful multicolour pullovers that one of my lecturers knits, I made my own odds’n’ends magic sweater with all the 4-ply yarn in my stash. Mostly sock yarn, some yarn I spun myself, some I bought on overseas travel, and some my Mum gave me especially for this project. Knitted in the round from the bottom up, with a circular yoke. It’s amazingly light and drapey and soft, and I can’t wait for the weather to get cool enough so I can wear it ALL THE TIME.

 

So I got really tricksy and knitted the v-neck as a steek, which I then sewed by machine and cut afterwards. I did this because I didn’t want to¬† a) interrupt the circular yoke bands and b) I didn’t want to purl a single stitch! I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, as I had never steeked anything before, but using these instructions as a reference made it super-simple. The cut edges turned under just beautifully, and I finished the v-neck with an unobtrusive i-cord bindoff.

 

I-cord neckline

 

Finished and blocking

 

Now hurry up Autumn, I want to wear my magic sweater!

 

Find this project here on Ravelry.

 

3 Responses to “Knit ALL the Yarns!”

  1. Cheryl Marie April 6, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    I love your sweater! I recently finished knitting a linen stitch scarf with all my leftover sock yarn and I thought that it would be fun to knit a sweater with all the different yarns too. You’ve inspired me to give it a try! I still have lots left over from my scarf – but if I have to buy a few skeins here and there – that’s ok too. Great job on the sweater and I like the i-cord v-neck that you did.

  2. veronicadarling (@veronicadarling) April 7, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Amazing!

  3. andibgoode April 12, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Gosh. It looks fantastic!
    -Andi x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

