Welcome to Whipstitch!

19 Nov

Hello crafty people! Welcome to Whipstitch! I’ve loved dressing up and vintage clothing ever since I stopped having to wear school uniforms and started having to think of what to wear every day! Polyester 70’s shirts and dresses made way for the 40’s and 50’s when I started swing dancing, but as sweating on the dancefloor is very hard on beautiful old clothes I started sewing more and more of my own outfits. I love the detail in vintage clothes – back then, people made their dresses to last years and years rather than one season, and touches such as bound buttonholes, sweeping hems finished by hand and delicate embroidery are elements I try to incorporate into my own sewing. I want the things I make to last for as long as I fit into them, before I hand them on to someone else to love!

Whipstitch is a place for me to share my sewing adventures, successes, failures and my inspirations and discoveries in the incredible online community of crafty people and lovers of fashion. There is no excuse for any of us to lament that we have nothing to wear, or to pay hideous amounts of money for new clothes that we might wear once or twice before throwing out, when we have the skills to make, or remake, amazing styles to suit ourselves. Sewing, knitting, crocheting, embroidery – even obscure crafts like tatting, netting and knotting – are all vital skills in our crafty arsenal. We don’t make daggy boxer shorts in home economics, we can make gorgeous outfits that we’re proud to wear out. So without further ado, welcome! Let’s sew!

 

3 Responses to “Welcome to Whipstitch!”

  1. Geire Kami November 25, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh oh oh! I am in raptures over your Gay Paris dress! DEEVINE! I am on the hunt for that pattern – not having much luck – is the back nice and fitted? Did you have to do much tweaking? Questions questions questions! I want a version of this but a little longer…the fabric…thats going to be the hard bit! 🙂

    • whipstitchsewing November 26, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

      Oh I’m glad you like it! It is officially re-named the Gay Paris dress! The pattern is easily available from Vogue, they have reissued it in a multi-size pattern. Mine fit me really well without adjusting at all – the back is low but snug, and I actually made it a bit shorter because I am short myself! I do have a small bust though, which was fine with this pattern but if you are more generously endowed than myself 🙂 you might need to adjust it there, if anywhere. Good luck! There are some lovely quilting cottons out there which I think would work really well.

  2. Abigael December 17, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    I stumbled over here from Andi’s blog, and boy am I glad I did! It’s so amazing to find other crafty Adelaide girls who sew their own clothes AND are into vintage (wow that’s niche!). I’m absolutely loving your entries so far, and can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

