White Christmas Dress

23 Nov

Even when it’s 40 degrees outside and we are sweating over our prawns, us Aussies like to hope, that by some festive miracle, snow is going to fall on Christmas Eve. The Swing Sesh Christmas Ball is appropriately themed ‘White Christmas’, complete with hazers and paper snowflakes, and given my usual preference for black or red I decided I probably have to make something more evocative of a European winter’s night.

Does it have to be white? Swing dancing events usually means dressing slightly vintage, but even the most stunning 30’s or 50’s evening dress ends up looking faintly… bridal.

via allencompanyinc on etsy

I started thinking of some other festive colour combos, with the proviso that I have to able to wear the dress again after Christmas. So no red/green, but red/white is pretty versatile, right? Spotlight and Lincraft were a bust on pretty fabrics, but Ikea turned up trumps with a lovely heavier-weight cotton.

I love that slightly baroque floral print! The pattern I found in an op-shop; it’s from 1959. It has a lace overlay yoke which I am not completely sold on yet, but if I can find some nice off-white netting or lace I might do it. Otherwise I will make the full-skirt version in a strapless style.

The white taffeta I was thinking of using as lining… but it might make the whole affair boiling hot! I can’t rule out the possibility that it will be a scorching night.

2 Responses to “White Christmas Dress”

  1. Andi B. Goode November 24, 2009 at 11:42 pm #

    Oh, gosh, I know what you mean about bridal. I think I need to add a coloured ribbon as a belt/sash to dispel any bridal images with my dress. I love the fabric you bought – isn’t IKEA great?
    -Andi x
    (PS If this doesn’t entirely make sense it’s only because I’m falling asleep as I type)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. White Christmas Ball Dress « - December 13, 2009

    […] fancy new outfit for a big night out. The pattern was McCalls 5036 from 1959, which I showed you in this post – I made it strapless rather than have a lace netting over the bodice because I […]

Leave a Reply

