Christmas Ball Sneak Peek

11 Dec

The Swing Sesh Christmas Ball is tomorrow night! I have been madly finishing my dress, petticoat and gathering my accessories… I just know I’m going to forget something! So here is a little peek at what I’ve been making. I still love my Ikea fabric and the dress turned out great, but you’ll have to come back and see it on Sunday!

PS. I am completely at a loss for hairstyles. I have hair past the middle of my back, which makes most 1950’s up-dos difficult. Does anyone know any good tutorials for evening styles?

7 Responses to “Christmas Ball Sneak Peek”

  1. Marybeth December 11, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    Did you make those shoes? Wow – I can’t wait to see your dress… Have fun!
    Marybeth
    http://puppydogtails-marybeth.blogspot.com/

  2. Miss Emmi December 11, 2009 at 11:20 pm #

    Perhaps a chignon? Can’t wait to see your outfit.

  3. Cisa Barry December 12, 2009 at 12:46 am #

    Check youtube! They have a plethora of vintage hairstyle suggestions and tutorials for all hair types. Loving to look so far, can’t wait to see the whole getup

  4. Veronica Darling December 12, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Yay! Can’t wait to see your outfit!

    Try http://bobbypinblog.blogspot.com/ and look through some archives, I’ve not really tried any yet, but they look ace.

    Usually for an up do – I french roll it (with a million bobby pins) but keep your front bits around your face out of it, then you curl them up or pin them in later a bit looser…

    Yay!

  5. Andi B. Goode December 12, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    This might be too late but Casey has a couple of vintage-esque tutorials and her hair is quite long…but they’re not really 1950s. http://blog.caseybrowndesigns.com/tag/tutorial/

  6. Abigael December 17, 2009 at 10:27 am #

    Oh wow! I’m in awe of your shoe covering skills! Don’t suppose you could do a bit of a ‘how-to’ write up on how you did it? Or do you have links that helped? They really help make the outfit something special. Also, the fabric is divine!

    • whipstitchsewing December 17, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

      I was thinking of doing a quick tutorial if the interest is there! I made it up mostly as I went along & it worked quite well, so maybe I should write it down for next time!

Leave a Reply

