Busier than Father Christmas? Maybe…

22 Dec

Or, in which sewing seems like a beautiful, untouchable and distant dream…

Every Christmas I promise myself I will never work retail in the silly season again!!! Thoughts of sewing have gone completely out the window – but I promise I am working on the shoe covering tutorial! On a happy note, look what I found while out op-shopping on Monday:

Not one, but three patterns of bathing suits and playsuits, all of different eras! That 1950’s pattern in the top left is completely gorgeous. Can’t wait to start. I posted about wanting to find a cute playsuit pattern a few weeks ago, and then I find a lovely one in my size; maybe there is some Christmas sewing magic in the air! These two patterns were also in the lot I bought, and that wrap-around shirt is tempting me horribly.

Working in a job that entails full-on selling over the Christmas season inspires me even more to be crafty, learn new skills, give home-made gifts, re-make old clothes and re-use anything I can. There is a general feeling in the air of spending less and making more, of giving things with personality rather than useless gadgetry. I love it!

Merry Christmas everyone!


11 Responses to “Busier than Father Christmas? Maybe…”

  1. Nadja- En salig blandning December 22, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    Hello, I just found you- and I´m really glad did! I´m really sad to read that that lovely bird dress weren´t ment to be worn… But I´d like to say that I belive that the fabric itself mabe had the best of time while you turned it to a dress (if fabrics have a soul?´Well I put my strongest belife to that all old things have a soul and loves to be used or worn)

    Do you mind if I ad your blog to my blogroll?

    Merry christmas/Nadja

    • whipstitchsewing December 22, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

      Please do! Yes, I do think there is still plenty of life in that dress – so many people have wished it well!

  2. Nadja- En salig blandning December 23, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    Thank you for visiting my blog!
    Can I ask why you went to sweden of all places? You can gladely have some of our snow, we have about 40cm of it now and minus 15 celcius 😉

    • whipstitchsewing December 25, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

      Most of my family live in Germany, and there is a big yearly swing dancing camp in the village of Herräng, so when I was last in Europe I took a side trip from the relatives to go dancing in Sweden!

  3. Andi B. Goode December 23, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    Wow, great finds! I’ve been looking for an actual wrap-blouse since I re-watched Houseboat.
    I realised something that’s kind of funny – I find it fairly easy to find vintage clothes that fit me properly, yet vintage patterns I’ve seen (online and otherwise) are almost always too small in the bust. Quite strange and irrelevant…
    -Andi x

  4. Miss Emmi December 23, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    Oh wow, not one but THREE playsuit patterns? How lucky! Hope you have a merry christmas!

  5. Nadja- En salig blandning December 28, 2009 at 12:31 am #

    Wow! So you dance swing! Thats cool, next year I and my fiance´will go to Herräng , we live just 15minnutes away!

  6. pendlestitches January 5, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    The wrap blouse pattern is adorable. Do you mind sharing the number of it? I’d love to hunt down a copy for myself.

    • whipstitchsewing January 10, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

      Sorry it took so long; I tidied my room and ‘tidied’ the pattern away as well! It’s Simplicity 4158. Good luck!

      • Evie January 11, 2010 at 4:19 am #

        Super…thanks for the info!! I’m off on the search!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A vintage-print playsuit for hot Tiki nights « - January 1, 2010

    […] be so flattering. It’s almost like wearing a skirt! Now I am going to work my way through the other patterns I have found, because the more I wear this playsuit, the more I think my wardrobe could stand a decent […]

Leave a Reply

