A vintage-print playsuit for hot Tiki nights

1 Jan

Happy New Year, crafty ladies and gentlemen! I’m still trying to think up some last-minute resolutions, but all I know is that I want to sew more, buy less, and spread the good word of the crafty revolution as much as I can!

I finished a playsuit! This was something of a trial effort, just to see if the style suits me. All too often I finish things and then realise it’s not flattering – just because it’s vintage doesn’t automatically mean it works for my shape. So here is the result. I used a vintage McCalls pattern for a bathing suit that I bought in Hobart years ago, but didn’t gather the bottom edges of the shorts as the pattern suggested. My thighs do not need that kind of attention!

I have used the bodice of this pattern before, for a dress, and found that it fitted really well. There are six darts in each half of the bodice. Six! So, for the lining and the outside I made twenty-four darts! But it fits, and that’s what counts.  My favourite dart (can there be such a thing?) is the one that lies on the front centre seam, between the boobs. It really helps to create a flattering shape there. The fabric is a quilting fabric I have been hoarding for a while. It’s so loud, but I think it works for a ‘fun’ garment such as this.

The tiki bar gets another outing.

I’m pretty happy with it, and feel comfortable wearing it. I think the key is the wide-leg shorts – anything tighter wouldn’t be so flattering. It’s almost like wearing a skirt! Now I am going to work my way through the other patterns I have found, because the more I wear this playsuit, the more I think my wardrobe could stand a decent selection!

21 Responses to “A vintage-print playsuit for hot Tiki nights”

  1. Rachel January 1, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Happy new year to you too! Thanks for leaving your comment on my blog, and for the assurance regarding bound buttonholes. I’ve loved all the creations you’ve posted so far… especially your french fabric dress. Soooo gorgeous! The playsuit is so cute. And you don’t need to worry about your ‘thigh area’ – you’re absolutely tiny!! I’m looking forward to your next sewing creation

  2. Debi January 1, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    LOVE it! It looks so great….I absolutely adore the fabric–it really matches the pattern well. I’ve always been a big fan of print fabrics with white turned down (peek-a-boo) collars. That’s a great idea to take the swimsuit pattern and instead of gathering the edges to leave them open. Fantastic job!

  3. Veronica Darling January 1, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Happy New Year! You look like a total doll in that suit! I agree with the wide legged pant, looks ace and I CAN’T believe that you made that many darts! OMG.

    Can’t wait to blog along with you through 2010!

  4. cindy January 2, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    Your playsuit is adorable! You’ve inspired me to try out my vintage swim suit patterns.

  5. Trudy Callan January 2, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    You look darling in your play suit.

  6. Kat January 2, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    that is gorgeous! I really want to make myself a playsuit but can’t find a pattern I like. This one is adorable!

  7. Marybeth January 2, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Cute!

  8. Amanda W January 2, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    Wow, that is a great pattern, and you did a great job with it. I’m just curious as to what the pattern number is – I need to put it on my “patterns to watch for” list!

  9. Vivian V. Dimples January 2, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    What a babe! I love your play suit. You have done such a swell job. I hope you have many adventures in it all while keeping cool in the summer heat.

  10. Andi B. Goode January 2, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    It’s so cute! It looks awesome on you, Enken. You did a great job.
    -Andi x

  11. Levineke January 3, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Hey Enken

    Jani put me on to your blog.
    That playsuit is fantastic – and it looks absolutely gorgeous on you.
    Happy sewing in 2010.

    Cheers
    Levineke

  12. Gillian January 5, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Didn’t I see you in the Advertiser in this gorgeous outfit!? You look absolutely gorgeous and you’ve done a great job. Well done!!

    • whipstitchsewing January 5, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

      The Advertiser? Not me… unless it was a papparazzi shot hahaha! Thank you though!

  13. Evie January 5, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    The playsuit looks amazing. And I love the ink!

  14. Karin January 7, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Ah, it’s fabulous! The material works really well, it’s not too much at all (I think the white trim helps).
    And gosh I get jealous of your climate when I see the pictures…

    • whipstitchsewing January 7, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

      Please don’t be jealous! It is 39ºC today, I would kill for some snow!! Literally!!

      • Karin January 12, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

        Hehe… I guess the grass is always greener… it’s a shame we can’t just swap a couple of days between us ;-).

  15. alibahbah January 21, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    That playsuit looks amazing on you – you’ve done a great job.

  16. Nichola February 3, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I LOVE your playsuit!!!

  17. Kathleen February 12, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    super cute playsuit!!

  18. Cherry February 12, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Hi,
    I know this is a year late but I’m doing a school project and I have to find a good pattern for my product in textiles, could you tell me what the pattern number is?
    Thankyou!
    Cherry

Leave a Reply

