Kreativ Blogger Award

22 Jan

Thank you to Alyssa at Vintage or Bust! for choosing me for this lovely award! This blog has only been active for such a short time (2 months really!) and already I have met a whole lot of inspiring people all over the world with incredible passion and talent for sewing, vintage, and dressing up! So thank you!

So here are the rules, and my responses:

1. Copy/paste the Kreativ Blogger Award picture onto your blog
2. Thank the person who awarded it to you and post a link to her/his blog
3. Write 7 things about yourself we might not know
4. Choose 7 other bloggers to award
5. Link to them
6. Notify your 7 bloggers of their award

Hmmm…. 7 things about me?


1. My real, secret sewing passion is historical costume, especially from the 18th Century and Victorian eras. Proper steel-boned corsets are about my favourite item of clothing to sew, and pocket hoops, crinolines and bustles make my heart beat faster!

Silk corset I made to wear to a wedding last year

2. I used to buy a lot of vintage clothing, but as my sewing got better I cut down. Being a swing dancer is really hard on old garments, and the prices are getting exorbitant! Now, a vintage piece has to have amazing fabric or detailing for me to bite 🙂

3. I am 1st Generation Australian. My family is completely German, and Berlin is my favourite city!

4. I could eat baked beans everyday.

5. I have finished two degrees at university, neither of them sewing-related. After years of academia I wanted to do something practical!

6. My day job is as a bookstore clerk. I like looking at all the latest crafty books the best.

7. I just bought a 50cc scooter and love it so much, I want to do a motorbike licence!

Ok that’s all for now! Unfortunately I can only choose five bloggers to pass this on to, as my burgeoning blogroll is still in its infancy. If you do read my blog and haven’t ever commented, please do so that I may check out your blog as well!

And I choose:

1. Miss Emmi at They’d Have Called Me “The Bar Nothing” for being a sassy glasses-wearing vintage lady with great Melbourne style!

2. Andi at Andi B. Goode for her absolute dedication to a perfect vintage look, from the hair to the shoes. Also, for being an awesome fellow Adelaidy 🙂

3. Tracey at Thift.Nest.Sew. for whipping up a softie like nobody’s business, and for taking really gorgeous photos.

4. The lovely Karin at Ancien-Nouveau for such in-depth looks at garment construction. I’ve learned some good tips from her!

5. En salig blandning for her Swedish craftiness and style; I am always envious of the Swedes for being so darn clever with fashion!

That’s all folks! Have a fantastic weekend; I have finished some dresses I will show you all soon!  xo

7 Responses to “Kreativ Blogger Award”

  1. Alyssa January 23, 2010 at 1:30 am #

    I am so jealous that you have a scooter! Due to 8 months of crap weather out of the year here, I have to own a sensible Vovlo Station Wagon.

    • whipstitchsewing January 23, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      My first car was a brown Volvo sedan from 1982!!! It’s sooo boxy and I loved it. Unfortunately I can’t afford to run it (takes lots of petrol). Volvos are nerd-chic I think!

  2. Andi B. Goode January 23, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    Aw, thanks, Enken. =D Hopefully I get around to doing this. Hehe.
    I always like reading these things, anyway. It’s nice to get to know little things about other people.
    -Andi x

  3. Miss Emmi January 23, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    My passion for vintage started with the Victorian era as well! I would drool over pictures of corsets all day long, but as soon as I actually bought one my interest shifted about 240 years forward and I never wore it more than once 😦 now it sits unloved at the back of my closet. It’s a fairy goth mother design – would you or any of your friends be interested in it? I want to make sure it gets to a loving home, and can’t bring myself to just pack it off to Vinnies :/

    Also, thanks so much for this award! I’ll try to get round to filling it out soon, sounds like fun! What were your degrees for, out of curiosity?

  4. Abi January 25, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    WOW! What a stunning corset! I had no idea you were into historical costuming! If you’re not aware of it already, you should totally check out the Australian Costumer’s Guild (http://www.australiancostumersguild.org.au). We do all sorts of costuming, including historical. And you can also check out the Victoriana Society (which I’m considering joining this year too). I’m about to start work on a Regency wardrobe for the Jane Austen Festival in Canberra in April. Which sadly means 18thC will have to wait til next year 😦 oh well!

    How do you find your scooter? I’ve been thinking about one for years, since I can’t afford a car and I tend to only do short trips places.

    • whipstitchsewing January 26, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

      I went to one guild meeting a long time ago! It did seem like fun, perhaps I should try again 🙂 Also, I love my scooter, it is just the most fun. Ask me again in winter though!!

      • Abi February 1, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

        You should definitely come along to another meeting! They’re held on the first Tuesday of the month, alternating between the east and west side of the city. If you check out the guild forums there’s always a thread about the monthly meetup well in advance!

        Sadly my boyfriend is very hesitant to let me have a scooter. He thinks they’re much too dangerous, though more so because of other drivers. So I guess I’ll have to stick with good old public transport for the time being!

Leave a Reply

