For the love of (leather) Bows!

24 Jan

Or, it is a rare fancy indeed that satisfies the inner vintage-goth.


Ever since I have seen these oversized leather bows around the internet, I have wanted one so badly. I love bows, they are such a cute way of topping off an outfit, and I love leather just as much. So these little items are just the perfect accessory to satisfy my inner vintage fashionista and my inner goth! Unfortunately leather accessories come with a leather price tag, so I flexed the crafty muscles and came up with my own version. This bow is made from a cut-up leather skirt and attached with a length of lightweight chain I had lying around. I used chain as it would lie well under a collar, or look a bit dangerous if I wore the bow over the top instead. The edges are topstitched for contrast.

So there we have it; my craving is satisified!

11 Responses to “For the love of (leather) Bows!”

  1. Susannah January 24, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    So pretty! Where is the blouse from?

  2. Kat January 25, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    That is gorgeous! I wish I had something leather to cut up and make one now.

  3. Miss Emmi January 25, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    You must have a super-heavy-duty sewing machine to be able to sew through leather! Once, a friend and I had a sew-along at her aunt’s (who makes curtains) place. Little did we know her giant industrial sewing machine would go about 4 times faster than any we’d used before D: it was a demon!

  4. Rachel January 25, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    That is so cute! The whole outfit makes me want to go to the library and flex my inner geek. Love the book you’re holding.

  5. juliab January 26, 2010 at 3:45 am #

    that looks Cool!! x

  6. Nadja- En salig blandning January 26, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Cool bow!
    I don´t konw if its ok, but I´d like to send back the award, just so you now! 😉

  7. Alyssa January 26, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    How clever! And, by the waym you remind me a lot of one of my friends, both in looks and in wardrobe!

  8. Andi B. Goode January 30, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Cute! I love big bows. I want a blouse with a gigantic one on it, as were popular in the ’30s.
    -Andi x

  9. Abi February 1, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    You are so clever! I love repurposing clothing, especially leather, as it’s much cheaper than buying a hide. I have some pants I bought to make into a corset one of these days. I can definitely see smaller leather bows as clips for shoes or hair!

Leave a Reply

