Is this awesome? Y/N

28 Jan

Or, I’m not really sure what came over me.

Sometimes a pattern just smacks you in the face with its fabulosity. Maybe you’re not the type to wear palazzo pants, or sleeveless tops, or intriguing keyhole necklines. Maybe you can’t ever imagine finding that perfect shade of teal velour. Maybe you were scanning the 40’s and 50’s patterns on Etsy when this little number showed up and you were suddenly awash with visions of 1970’s glamour. Suggested fabric? Polyester knit, velvet, velveteen, satin. It boggles the mind.

We all have our ‘niche’, be it 50’s ballgowns or 60’s shifts; a shape our eye is always drawn to first when scouring the pattern sites. But have you ever fallen for something kind of outrageous? A dress that is so awkward it becomes endearing? Pants of a cumbersome width? Tell me about the patterns that have stolen your senses! Did it work out? Or did it just look better on paper?

As for me, I am anxiously waiting for my jumpsuit pattern (courtesy of Midvale Cottage) to arrive in my mailbox, and keeping an eye out for teal velveteen while I’m at it…

12 Responses to “Is this awesome? Y/N”

  1. Rachel January 28, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    I love it! I would look horrendous in the a jumpsuit like that, but I totally love it. I have several patterns that will never become actual garments…. I did try once with trousers with an exposed front zipper – made in tartan. Holy crap they were dreadful! Exposed front zipper on pants?

    • whipstitchsewing January 28, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      ….but tartan pants are great! Maybe that will cancel out the badness of the zip?

      • Rachel January 29, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

        Nope, I think they are definitely in the ‘not for public wear EVER’ pile. Ah well.

  2. Miss Emmi January 28, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I actually have wanted a teal satin jumpsuit ever since I watched ‘The Burlesque Hour’ (with red jelly platforms plz)!

  3. Veronica Darling January 28, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Sugar that’s hot.

    Now, how did your machine go with that leather material in your bow the other day? I have never tried it before, and kinda feel a bit vegan-esque with my fabrics overall, but I am intrigued with sewing hard fabrics! I have needles breaking so often!

    • whipstitchsewing January 28, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      Haha, hopefully it will be hot! As for leather… leather is actually pretty soft if you are using garment leather (like from an old skirt!). A normal machine needle of 14 or 16 should do the trick. There are even special leather needles you can buy, but if your item is not under lots of strain normal needles should work fine.

      Of course, sewing the kind of leather saddles and bags are made of is a different thing entirely! That needs an industrial leather machine, I think. Or by hand!

  4. Alyssa January 28, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    Yes! I love pantjumpers!

  5. Katherine M. January 29, 2010 at 2:06 am #

    I prefer to call that “kind of outrageous” attraction…eccentricity. And yes, I have my own eccentricities too šŸ™‚
    However, I have seen you and your sewing and I have no doubts that I will love this when you do find that perfect teal velveteen…I am waiting in anticipation! Happy stitches to you!

  6. Linda P January 29, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    Well, now I’m really showing my age, but…

    I actually made up a pattern very much like this in the late 60’s, just like view 1 without the keyhole. Soft drapey, bright flowered material with a wide self belt. I cut it off just at the knee, put a casing of elastic in each leg, and then pulled that elastic up as high on my leg as I wanted, to make it short, short. Kind of a bubble skirt.

    This was the outfit that got my husband-to-be to speak to me the first time. Of course he said I looked cute, but I later found out he really didn’t like it. BUT, he said, I knew right away that a girl who would wear something like that would have to be fun… and creative and I HAD to get to know her.

    I still have that dress.

  7. Marybeth January 29, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I love it!

  8. alibahbah January 29, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    ooh I love option 1 – would look very cute as a play suit if you made the legs shorter (but still flaired) xx

Leave a Reply

