The Vintage Pattern Zodiac Part 1

12 Feb

In which the stars take a hand in our vintage wardrobes…

Okay, I’m not into taking horoscopes seriously as a rule, but it can be a bit of fun! So here, for you entertainment, some vintage patterns I picked out according to the personality traits of the twelve signs of the Zodiac! The pictures are links to the sellers, so if you like something just go ahead and click.

Aries

A snappy red 1960’s scooter dress for the headstrong, independent Aries! Simple lines and a short skirt will turn heads and not get in your way as you rush about on your Vespa. You have a magnetic personality, so pick a vibrant fabric that stands out and complements your independent spirit!

More after the cut!

Taurus

Prim and proper? No, but Taurans are known for their classic style and stubborn nature. This classic suit has lots of interesting details and features that will challenge a patient and persistent seamstress. A tailored jacket with a peplum and a pleated skirt call for attention to detail and serious skills!

Gemini

Brimming with energy and fun, I can see Geminis as the ultimate disco diva! You’re friends with the whole club and your moves on the dancefloor are famous, so here is a flashy jumpsuit that you could make up in a sparkly satin, or a glittery velvet, or even something lacy… the crazier the better!

Cancer

Cancerians are family creatures and love a cosy home, so this mother-daughter apron set is perfect. You’re also terribly stylish, so you need a fancy apron to cover your gorgeous dresses in the kitchen! I love the big pockets in the top version.

Leo

Okay, look at the expression of the girl in white… she knows she’s the leader of the pack! Now imagine her dress in an animal print stretch cotton… meow!! This is the perfect pattern for a Leo, a girl who means business and loves the spotlight. You’re full of flair and a natural leader – this dress proves it!

Virgo

The ultimate Joan Holloway… Virgos are witty, clever, good with words and a poison pen. That jacket is just the loveliest little item – imagine making it in a contrasting fabric such as velvet or perhaps even leather! You’re also not nearly as prim and proper as your snazzy little suit suggests – trust me, I’m a Virgo and I know!

Hope you had fun reading – I sure had fun finding the patterns! Come back on the weekend for the second part of this series!

8 Responses to “The Vintage Pattern Zodiac Part 1”

  1. Kassie February 12, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    oh how fun!

    But you forgot my sign =[ Libra! ha

    • whipstitchsewing February 14, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

      The other signs are still coming!!! Hang in there I have not forgotten you 🙂

  2. Veronica Darling February 13, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    Love your thoughts today! I had to do a blog post about your virgo one, since I’m a virgo too! Have a great weekend!

  3. Rachel February 13, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Love it! I’m a Virgo too!

  4. Abi February 13, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    What a cute idea! I love all the little descriptions!

    I’m a Leo 😀 (coincidently born in the year of the Tiger so double meow!) The dress is gorgeous, though more the style that I dream of being able to wear, rather than actually wearing. I LOVE the models expressions though!

  5. Andi B. Goode February 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    This is such a cute idea. I’m also a Leo and a Tiger like Abi and love that dress – I’d definitely wear it, especially in leopard print. ;]
    -Andi x

  6. cecili February 14, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    Oh my, you nailed it with this Taurus pattern! I was after peplums last week and finally found this: http://ny-image1.etsy.com/il_fullxfull.114828493.jpg look at these pleats on the back! I’m in heaven^^!

  7. tsurumaru February 21, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    Nice to see you having fun with such a ridiculous theme. Not sure that the snappy red 1960’s scooter dress would suit me too well mind you 😛

Leave a Reply

