Vintage Pattern Zodiac Part 2

15 Feb

I do hope everyone had a lovely weekend and Valentine’s Day! I went and saw ‘The Wolfman’ with my boy, and it lived up to its promise of being fantastically schlocky, gory B-grade horror. I wish I had seen it at the drive-in! Anyway, without further ado, here are the second six astrologically-inspired vintage patterns I have chosen for you.

Libra

Oh you lucky Libra! Elegant, graceful and diplomatic – for you I found this stunning 1930’s frock. You love everything to be beautiful and harmonious, and this dress would make a gorgeous day outfit in Version A, or carry you through a fancy diplomatic ball in Version B.

Scorpio

I had a lot of trouble picking a pattern for the mysterious Scorpio, but I settled on this late 60’s overalls-and-jacket combination in the end. Why? Because with your independent flair, you’ll love to wear something a little bit different. The coat lends an air of secret agent mystery – you’ll never give your secrets away!

Sagittarius

When I read that Sagittarians were explorers and adventurers, I couldn’t resist finding a safari suit pattern. And this one left me speechless! For the Sagittarius man who craves new horizons, speaks a dozen different languages, tames wild tigers and is always prepared (look at all those pockets!), this pattern is for you.

Capricorn

Capricorn ladies are resourceful, patient and loyal. You’re the ones knitting for the war effort, organising fundraisers with your friends and looking fantastic even through the rationing. You are natural leaders and set a very stylish example!

Aquarius

I just love this pattern. Aquarians are witty, clever, love long philosophical conversations and are highly creative, so I picked this dress with lots of options so you always look smart but can go for a different look every day. Perfect for professors or famous chefs (no being chained in the home kitchen for you!).

Pisces

Pisceans are the psychics of the zodiac, the dreamers and visionaries. 1970’s patterns include such lovely long gowns, perfect with big earrings and witchy hair. You are captivating, mysterious and fascinating – to me, that white gown seems like something a lady out of a Greek myth would wear!

I do hope you enjoyed my Vintage Pattern Zodiac – I definitely had lots of fun thinking it up. Sometimes it helps to have a new way of looking at patterns and clothes, even if it’s something a bit wacky, just so you don’t get stuck in a rut! Happy sewing everyone!

9 Responses to “Vintage Pattern Zodiac Part 2”

  1. sarah February 15, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    wow, I am impressed. What is my favorite pattern of all 12? Libra! (which is odd because I don’t usually like anything pre-WWII) and what am I? Libra!! That’s pretty amazing! Too bad I don’t have $40 to spend on a pattern!

    • whipstitchsewing February 15, 2010 at 11:22 am #

      I know… it’s the most expensive one… but it was so lovely I had to put it in!

  2. mollymolly February 15, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    I love these posts, you should do it again if you can think up another theme!

  3. Abi February 15, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    These two posts have definitely been a lot of fun to read! I agree with mollymolly, I hope you do something like this again soon! (Maybe the Chinese zodiac? It’s just clicked over into the Year of the Tiger!) 😉

  4. Debi February 15, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    I’m a capricorn and loved the capricorn dress! Loved these posts 🙂

  5. Miss Emmi February 15, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    This series was so fun!

  6. Nadja February 15, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Oh, Oh, Oh!!! Love the libra dress! The 30´s elegance is just stunning!
    Wonder what a 30´s or 40´s gemini would have lookt like as I´m a gemini…

  7. indigorchid February 21, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Oh, this was fun! I didn’t read the captions or title of the post initially, I just gasped at the beautiful 30’s frock. Then I laughed out loud when I realized what the post was about, and how spot on you were. Oh, I do love me some harmonious Libra clothing!

Leave a Reply

