A clean house is the sign of a bored mind…

20 Feb

Or, creative forces do not allow for tidy stacks of fabric!


After neglecting my sewing room for the well-stocked costume classroom at school (steam irons! industrial machines! NO SWEEPING AFTER!), I finally cleaned up and tried to wrestle my monstrous stash back into order. Seriously, the only way I could do this was by taking pictures as I went so I had documentation that my unruly piles can actually look like something out of a Reputable Craft Blog (TM). Of all things, messy piles of fabric really step on my creative buzz. I need to see how colours and patterns sit next to each other, to be able to touch and re-arrange. Often colour combinations are the starting point for an design that I would never have thought of before.

I know that a jumble of oddments, notions, swatches and trims can be really inspiring, but there come a point where it is just MESS! So I ask you – what are your favourite tips for sewing room organisation? How do you tame the stash? How do you deal with the boring mess – the threads on the carpet and the dust – to make sure you have time for the ‘fun’ mess?

5 Responses to “A clean house is the sign of a bored mind…”

  1. atomic mum February 20, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    This is an easy one for me as I have to clean up and put away every Sunday night. I have an old Horn sewing cabnet and then boxes with fabric, ribbon, lace etc. The boxes are not tidy in them selfs but at least it’s all out of harms way from the little ones.

    Getting into the habit of doing it also a good idea. If you aim to do it, say every month it becomes normal. I sometimes find thing I’ve forgoten about.

  2. whipstitchsewing February 20, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    I have one of those Horn cabinets – I find that the little drawers get so dusty, and because you can’t take them off it’s hard to clean out without vacuuming. I think a ‘cleaning date’ is probably a very good idea!

  3. Alyssa February 21, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    My favorite way to keep things neat is to keep four boxes with my current sewing projects in them (only one project per box). That way I never lose pattern pieces or fabric or buttons and I can throw it in messily but still have a generally neat appearance. I’m still grappling with keeping my stash neat though.

  4. Lily February 21, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    hahahaha I don’t bother with cleaning up! I just sew until my sewing room gets so untidy that I can’t get into it or someone is coming to stay so needs to sleep on the bed.

  5. Veronica Darling March 2, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    I’m the same as you Lily! Mine’s also the spare bedroom, and until someone comes along to stay, it’s a right old mess! Delish and how I like it!

Leave a Reply

