Long time no sew!

4 Oct

Costume on the mannequin by Abi Casey/Image courtesy of PeterFisher

Actually, that’s not true at all! I’ve been sewing… a lot.

Sometimes I sew so much, I don’t feel like sewing anymore.

But then I have a good sleep and that craziness passes.

A lot has happened in my little sewing world over the past year. I’m now a second-year student of wardrobe and costume production for theatre and film, and I even have a job where I get paid to draft patterns. Pretty cool! I’ve missed having a blog, even though I’m often super-busy, because it lets me keep track of ideas, keeps me accountable to finish projects (!) and gives me a space to think through stuff – all with the added bonus of hearing what others have to say about it!

So here I am again, giving this another shot. The focus of ‘Whipstitch’ won’t be solely vintage-inspired sewing any more. I still love it, but it’s become a slightly smaller part of what I do. In addition to sewing, I want to write about pattern drafting, a bit of embroidery, the creative process, cosplay, historical costume and my quest to learn how to use software to digitise my hand-drawn patterns. Sometimes completely unrelated adventures, like the side-quest in which I attempt to build a bicycle from miscellaneous parts, might creep in. Bear with me. I’ll try and be a good pen-pal!

This blog will also eventually become my online portfolio. I have made so many costumes that are destined to see only the inside of a storage room unless they are hung up where someone can see them – like here! To the right you can see my Flickr gallery, to which I will upload photos of my completed costumes.

I’ve also put up a few links to other places on the net that I frequent. I only just joined The Sew Weekly, and am looking forward to hanging out there!

In addition, as I learn how to use software to digitise my patterns, I will post some of them here. They’ll be pretty basic to start with, but I’m hoping it will help me learn. I love to draft by hand, but I can see how having neat, digital patterns is easier to share and much more professional.

That’s it for now, but I’ll be back soon!

5 Responses to “Long time no sew!”

  1. Kat October 5, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Welcome back! Can’t wait to see what you have been up to.

  2. Clarissa October 7, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    Yay! You’ve been missed. I am so excited that you are sharing your works and artistry again! Thank you!

  3. Marie October 10, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    I’m so pleased you’re back, you’ve really been missed! You blog was one of the first ones I found when I started out sewing and words can’t describe how much it/you inspired me with your beautiful creations and photography! I’m ecstatic that we get to be part of what you’ve been up to ;o)

  4. veronicadarling (@veronicadarling) October 10, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Oh yay! I’m so keen to hear your pattern drafting stories and see what you’ve been up to! Looking forward to blogging and sewing along with you again!

  5. Stephanie October 14, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Great to see you back in the blogworld! & please share your pattern drafting madnesses with us! & I like old bicycles too, would love to see you build a bike 🙂

Leave a Reply

