Washing Day

13 Oct

Lawn needs mowing, shed looks.... sheddy. Ah well! But how about that Hills Hoist?!

There is something about a sunny, slighty windy day in early Spring… hanging out the washing is just a lovely thing to do.

It’s one of my favourites chores anyway; damp clean clothes fresh out of the machine, standing in the sunshine and enjoying the day as you hang them up. The satisfying way you snap the fabric when it’s wet and the wrinkles fall out. The eye-catching colour combinations you get when you hang some pink undies next to a yellow blouse, or a green bit of fabric.

All clean and dry and ready to go into the stash!

Even better is taking it all down again. Satisfyingly sun-warmed sheets, soft dry t-shirts, lengths of fabric ready to be sewn up. Folding things into neat stacks. I probably sound a bit silly waxing lyrical about doing the washing, but hey, it’s the little things, right?

One Response to “Washing Day”

  1. Naomi October 19, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Absolutely nothing silly about it at all! I never realized until I visited my Mom back home in Brisbane (I currently live in San Francisco area) just how much I missed hanging my laundry outside to dry! It was a lovely day, the birds were singing and there was just enough breeze to perfectly dry everything. The fresh smell when I took them down, made me realize Australia smells beautiful. Well, the little bit of Australia that is my Mom’s backyard!

    Here in the States, I’ve lived in apartments the entire time with no access to being able to line dry my clothing – so it’s dryers for me…which happens to be rather harsh on certain clothing over extended use. One day, when I move back to Australia, maybe I’ll have myself a good ol’ Hill’s Hoist again?

Leave a Reply

