Little Dala Horse Top

8 Dec

 

I get really hung up on details sometimes. Start out with a great idea, full of enthusiasm, pull out all my fabric, my patterns, my machines… get stuck because I don’t have the right colour thread. Or ric-rac. Or buttons, or some other little thing no one but me would ever notice.  I want so much for the end result to be perfect that I can’t even start for fear of not finishing!

This little top was made in about an hour out of some scrap fabric (just enough for midriff-length, no longer!) and a Dala horse stencil. Not thinking, no deliberating. I cut the fabric freehand around a pattern block, measuring on the fly and deciding necklines and sleeves as I went. The horses I stencilled on and dried with a hair-dryer, to prevent the project lying around waiting to dry. The neckline is bound with some calico bias tape I had lying around. Finished!

 

 

It was so refreshing, not *having* to think about every little detail. I didn’t have a clear image in my head of what I wanted to make, so the project was free to change as I went along. Does anyone else get so hung up on details that they can’t start? It’s an almost painful feeling!

2 Responses to “Little Dala Horse Top”

  1. SewingElle December 8, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Cool.
    This fabric looks very familiar? Ikea some time ago?? I’ve just used Ikea linen that looks exactly like this (apart from the gorgeous red horses of course!).
    I’d had this Ikea linen in my stash for several years. Bought it from the Adelaide store in a sale.
    And yes I know exactly what you mean about getting stuck on details. I think all sewists suffer from this.

    • whipstitchsewing December 8, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

      Yes it’s from Ikea 🙂 Wish I had more now, it’s lovely!

Leave a Reply

